Fun fair at Cards & Stamps Addicts

What fun this summer over at Cards & Stamps Addicts.  The theme for their summer challenge is a real trip down memory lane with challenges galore all based on the rides and treats of a fun fair.

Even with very little spare time I couldn’t pass up the opportunity of feeling like a kid again, so I post-haste made myself an avatar which matched the theme:

and jumped in by requesting an entry ticket.  The price to pay for my entry?  A card with the word “fête” on it, and bright, cheerful colours, of course.  I came up with a rather classic card :

Classic or not, it was enough to gain me my entry ticket:

Then it was off to the first event : a spin of the Wheel of Fortune, where I was given a variety of obligatory elements to include on my card.  I can’t tell you what they were for now, as others may yet still play along.  However, the first card I made didn’t quite meet the criteria:

IMG_0456

But I really like my little elephant stamp, so made another card with him, just for fun:

 IMG_0517

Then got back to work to make a “proper” card for my challenge.

This one made it past the judge’s beady eyes:

IMG_0513

Whew!

I think there were a few other challenges which I did not (yet) get to participate in (I’ll get back to them later, I hope), so my next card was for the “bunting” challenge.  What’s a fair without bunting and flags, eh?  Everyone’s take on it was different and there’s a gorgeous load of colourful cards to admire in the gallery.  This is what my one looked like:

IMG_0516

After that I took a long break.  I was busy at home, busy at work …

Cardmaking was not high on my list of priorities.

However, today I had a little spare time, so back to the fair I went, and took a turn on the Ferris Wheel.

This involved making a card based on the following sketch :

Here’s my card:

KODAK Digital Still Camera

At one stage I didn’t think it was going to come together, but  have to admit that I’m really pleased with the result.  I even managed to use my MME enamel dots, some brads from my stash and TWO flowers (I almost never use flowers).  What an accomplishment, eh?

While on a roll, I stopped by the ice cream van at the fair and discovered that the challenge there was to make an icecream or icelolly-shaped card.  Right up my son’s street, he loves the ice cream stall.  This card is his favourite of the ones I made today, what a surprise!

KODAK Digital Still Camera

So now I shall finish with the card that made me take out my papers and glue today and play a little.

This is a lift of a gorgeous card I spotted on Mimi’s blog.  I loved the clean lines of her card and knew immediately that I was going to scraplift it.

Here’s my version using Teresa Collins papers, brads from Artemio and enamel dots from MME:

Wishing you a lovely Saturday evening and a happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

